Getaway: Babymoon at The Phoenician in Scottsdale, AZ

Vacation time!

My husband had the idea to take me on a Babymoon a few months ago. We talked about a few different locations: DC for touring (we both love American history), San Antonio for the Riverwalk (we both love Mexican food) and eventually settled on The Phoenician in Scottsdale. We both love lying around a pool in the sun doing nothing. (I know, it’s uncanny how much we have in common.)

A few things I learned on this trip:

1. I immediately regretted not bringing Avery. Within the first five minutes, we saw the sweetest little toddler with her mommy and daddy and we were so jealous. I had to stop myself from asking if I could just give her a quick squeeze to get my baby fix.

2. I got over that. About ten minutes after we checked in and headed to the pool, we proceeded to spend a full day reading and napping in the sun. Of course we missed Avery, looked at her pictures, and probably talked about her way too much, but since we were only away from KC for one full day we embraced the freedom and relaxation. And Avery got some good bonding time with her grandparents. Win-win.

My pool read. Highly recommend for light summer time reading. Basically a Nora Ephron movie in a book.

3. Being 6 months pregnant made me feel ridiculously confident in a bikini. I have never been too excited about showing my midsection, but there is something about a pregnant gal in a swimsuit that makes strangers smile approvingly and comment on your body directly to your face. I got so many sweet compliments on my lil belly that I started thinking I should wear more tube tops in my day-to-day life. Then again…maybe that was the virgin Pina Colada talking.

Kuhlman, Party of 2.5 checking in!

This picture does not do the resort justice. We had a huge room with a nice big bathroom, coffee bar, and balcony.

 

Morning view from the balcony overlooking Camelback Mountain and the golf course

Pool time!

The first night we had a late dinner at Il Terrazzo. Like any normal adults, we had a photo shoot/dance party in our hotel room before going out for the evening. Doesn’t everyone do this?

Didn’t actually need to bring any maternity clothes on this trip. I found this dress at Nordstrom Rack which is the greatest place on earth to shop for cute vacation stuff. I thought it warranted more than one pose.

My husband is from St. Louis and therefore feels he must rap and dance whenever a Nelly song comes on Pandora.

Dinner was wonderful. We got a half order of the Spaghetti with Meatballs, San Marzano Tomato Sauce, and Black Garlic as well as a half order of the Fettuccine Carbonara with House Cured Pancetta and Farm Egg. The REAL treat was dessert: Chocolate Pudding served in a little silver pot, topped with caramel and whipped cream. Everything was made from scratch and well worth the calories!

We dined al fresco overlooking the pool

The next morning we got our Starbucks and walked around the resort. Kevin beat me at two games of Bocce ball. Or so he says. I don’t know the rules so he could have been making them up. (Note to self: google Bocce ball rules.)

I caught this picture of Kevin just a second too late, making it appear as if he is either gesturing rudely at an innocent passerby or taking the game way too seriously.

Notice the lizard in the bottom left square

Kevin dropped me off at the spa for my Mommy-to-Be massage and headed on a 2.5 hour hike to conquer Camelback Mountain. 

My rugged outdoorsman

Ever since our honeymoon in Maui, I always make us take what we now refer to as “Senior Pictures” on vacation. I thought these turned out well!

Spent the afternoon at the pool and went to happy hour at Relish Burger Bistro

View of the golf course from our table at Relish and the Koi pond at feeding time

 

On our way to dinner, we stopped at the Thirsty Camel Lounge where we sat outside overlooking the Phoenix lights. The terrace is covered with cozy outdoor furniture, fire pits, a sushi bar, and palm trees and it smells faintly of cigar smoke and tequila (ah, vacation). So relaxing. We had dinner at J&G Steakhouse which is an Asian/French fusion Steakhouse with fantastic live music. The musician sang everything from Billy Joel to Coldplay to Eric Clapton. He even made Eddie Money’s “Two Tickets to Paradise” sound classy and mellow somehow. We started with the Peekytoe Crab Cake because who could resist ordering that? It came on a bed of avocado and was served with pink grapefruit and a ginger lime broth. Loved it. Kevin ordered a wedge salad and a filet with roasted mushrooms and I had the Steamed Shrimp salad with avocado and Champagne dressing. We went back to the other restaurant for the Chocolate Pudding for dessert and took a stroll through the Cactus Garden which was surprisingly creepy at night.

Sunday was brunch day! We scheduled a later flight home so we could enjoy one more day of the amenities, including the water slide. One of the many reasons I adore my husband…he is a brilliant attorney, husband and father, but he is still a kid at heart!

PRICELESS!

Excited to get home to our Princess!

 Unfortunately we flew home right as the thunderstorms hit Kansas City. They actually closed the airport right as we were supposed to land and we ended up having to make an emergency stop in Tulsa to refuel before we could head back to KCI. Luckily we arrived safely at home in time to get a pretty good night of sleep after sneaking into Avery’s room to kiss her chubby little cheeks while she slept, of course.

I can’t say enough wonderful things about The Phoenician. It is the perfect place for a babymoon or couples getaway. I think the only thing we would do differently is that next time my husband would bring his golf clubs. We definitely want to return, maybe even with kids. Then again, maybe not…

 

One thought on “Getaway: Babymoon at The Phoenician in Scottsdale, AZ

  1. Pingback: Getaway: Scottsdale Kuhlmans | Mrs. Kansas Mommy

Hearing from you always makes my day:

