My Best Friend’s Wedding (Shower) – Kentucky Derby Theme

“What I mean, when I say annoyingly perfect, is that there is nothing annoying about her perfection. It’s vulnerable and endearing… and that is annoying as sh…” 

– My Best Friend’s Wedding

The Bride!

So the time has finally come. I am going to be Maid of Honor in my best friend’s wedding. I have been preparing for this role ever since she asked me in 1992. She was 6 and I was 8. The bride, Marisa, is not only my best friend since childhood, my Tri Delta sister, and my daughter’s Godmother; through a somewhat complicated family tree she is also technically my step-Aunt. And she is perfect. 

When her father (my mom’s step Dad) was dying of cancer, she spent her college weekends driving hours home and back to help care for him. This inspired her to get her nursing degree so she could take care of other people who were facing dark times. Through all of that stress she never put the focus on herself, always others. She endured unimaginable grief at a very young age and used the energy to help make the world a better place through her nursing career. 

She’s also fun. A few things about her…see that mega-watt smile? I have actually seen her open a beer bottle with those pretty white teeth. I have seen her throw that same beer bottle so far and so high that it hit a billboard. Seriously. She is the only girl I know who never drinks diet pop, only regular. She loves dogs and children. She also loves burritos and tequila. She knows sports and movie quotes. She can bowl, dance, and shoot pool. She has a hilariously inappropriate sense of humor. She’s a tom boy who grew up to be a sorority girl and she is one of those rare women who can pull off both classy and crude. She’s basically like a real life Sandra Bullock character. I ask you, what man would not want to marry this girl?!

Marisa as Maid of Honor on my Wedding Day in 2009

Marisa holding Avery for the first time in the delivery room

So obviously I was thrilled to have the opportunity to throw Marisa a bridal shower and I wanted it to be perfect, just like her. I came up with the idea of the Kentucky Derby theme because she is having her wedding reception at a gorgeous ranch. People really had fun with the costumes. The Groom’s grandmother (we all just call her “Granny”) came dressed as the Kentucky Colonel and his aunts came dressed as Jockeys. We had all different colors and sizes of polka dots (a popular choice) and an assortment of custom hat embellishments including bows, flowers, feathers, and photos. One of the great things about everyone wearing big hats is that I didn’t feel at all pretentious serving mint juleps and greeting everyone with Beverly-Hills-style air kisses. I will post a separate blog entry with the food and decor details, but here are some of the fun Party Pics:

Just the 3 of us

In the words of Lisa Vanderpump, Life isn’t all diamonds and rosé, but it should be!” 

 
 
 

Marisa cutting her Pink Champagne cake

This was my favorite hat of the day!

Ladies in hats

My mom stuck a jaunty photo of  her horse Travis in the brim of her chapeau

 Unfortunately, Avery could not attend the shower due to a previous nap commitment that she couldn’t get out of, but she did make time to pose for a picture in her fancy horsey shirt with the Bride!

Doesn’t Marisa look GREAT with a baby?!

So here’s to the future Mr. and Mrs. Charlie and Marisa Whitfield and all the wedding festivities to come! June is right around the corner!

 
 
Hearing from you always makes my day:

