How Does She Do It: Health and Fitness by Devin

Meet Devin, a thirty-something Chicago girl (formerly of Kansas City) I met her years ago when she was an attorney at the same law firm as my husband and I remember thinking she was one word: CHIC. Devin stood out to me because she always looks effortlessly stylish. She dresses the way I envision myself dressing in the movie version of my life. She just exudes confidence, class and sophistication. Over the years we have kept in touch on Facebook, so when I decided to do this feature she was one of the first people I asked to participate because I am dying to know her secrets. She’s always been fit, but recently she has taken it to the NEXT level, so I am really excited to share her diet and workout plan! The pool is about to open and I am SO ready for this serious inspiration served up by Miss Devin!

File this under Woman Crush Wednesday because I want to be this girl when I grow up…

MKM: What all did you eat yesterday?

DB: Breakfast: Protein Shake (1 scoop Dymatize Chocolate Whey Protein powder, ½ cup Unsweetened Almond Coconut Milk, ½ small banana)

MidMorning Snack: ¼-½ cup Unsalted mixed nuts

Lunch: Salad (Fresh spinach, ½ cucumber, fresh sliced mushrooms, 4.5 oz baked chicken breast, Lite balsamic vinaigrette dressing)

Snack: Small Pink Lady Apple

Post-Workout: Protein Shake (1 scoop Dymatize Chocolate Whey Protein powder, ½ cup water)

Dinner: Baked salmon, sautéed spinach and mushrooms, two glasses of champagne

(I limit alcohol to once or twice per week and completely eliminate it for competition preparation.)

Snack: ¼-½ cup Unsalted mixed nuts and dried cranberries

MKM: What’s a typical eating day for you?

DB: I focus on consuming lean protein, green vegetables and at least three liters of water.  Sometimes I will substitute meals with whey protein shakes or low carb protein bars, but most of my calories consumed are from whole foods.

MKM: What would you consider a “splurge”?

DB: Sushi along with my favorite cocktail, St. Germaine and Champagne.

(Emily’s note: Maybe I should start considering these “splurges” too. Up to this point I’ve been referring to them as “diet staples.”)

 

MKM: Have you ever gone through a time in your life when you were overweight?

DB: I have been curvier and thicker (with weight all in the right places!), but I have never been medically overweight or obese. I’ve committed myself to a lifestyle of cardiovascular exercise, weight training and nutritious eating to maintain.

Strong is the new sexy!

MKM: Do you have a personal trainer?

DB: I have a distant fitness coach, Kat Williams of Kat Pro Fitness, as well as a local coach, La’Drissa Bonivel of Team SuperBody.  Kat is a Professional IFBB Bikini competitor and La’Drissa is a Professional IFBB Physique competitor.  My coaches provide nutrition and training plans to ensure that I meet my personal goals.  I love seeing my new plans every month – I never get bored!

 

MKM: Do you belong to a gym?

DB: Absolutely!  At one point I belonged to two different gyms.  I exercise at my gym, in the fitness room of my condo building or in my living room.  It depends on my mood.  Finding a gym that has the right energy is key for fitness motivation.

 

MKM: What’s a typical week’s workout schedule?

DB: I typically train 5-6 days per week.  I perform high intensity interval training (HIIT) cardio and change my weight training every week.  Some weeks are low sets, high reps while other weeks may be high sets, low reps – my coaches always keep my body guessing!

Mon:           Legs and HIIT Cardio

Tues:          Shoulders, Chest and HIIT Cardio

Weds:         Back, Biceps, Triceps and HIIT Cardio

Thurs:         Light Shoulders and HIIT Cardio

Fri:              Glutes and HIIT Cardio

Sat:             Long cardio session and any body part I feel did not get worked enough during the week

 

MKM: What makes a bigger difference, eating or exercise?

DB: Nutrition!  Food is fuel for the body and you can never outwork a bad diet.  I use exercise as a means to tone and develop my muscles. Abs are made in the kitchen and as the old saying goes, “a moment on the lips, forever on the hips!”

 

MKM: Do you wear make-up and cute clothes when you work out?

DB: I absolutely wear cute clothes when I train.  If you look good, you feel and perform well!  The only time I wear make-up while exercising is if I hit the gym right after work and forget to wash my face.

(Emily’s note: I think it’s time for me to invest in some cute workout clothes. This seems to be a recurring theme among my fabulously fit friends.)

 

MKM: Do you regularly weigh yourself?

DB: I generally weigh myself once per week but not too often. I have a few articles of clothing that I use to gauge my fitness level and physique.  I focus primarily on how I look rather than the scale.  I actually weigh a lot more than people think.

 

MKM: Do you count calories and if so what number do you shoot for daily?

DB: I focus on macronutrients and ensure that I consume a certain percentage of my calories from protein, complex carbs and fat.  I generally ensure that I consume the following macronutrient composition: 50% Protein, 30% complex carbs and 20% fat.

When I really want to dial in I will consume 60% of my calories from protein from light, white fish such as tilapia, mahi mahi or cod.

(Emily’s note: Um, this is a lot of math. I might be in trouble…)

MKM: Do you use an app like MyFitnessPal or LoseIt?

DB: I use MyFitnessPal.  I love the nutrition visual chart that it provides so that I can track my macronutrients throughout the day.  It makes it very simple to determine whether I need to consume more protein or whether I can load up on greens or almonds.

(Emily’s note: Okay, yes. Pictures instead of math. Now we’re talking.)

MKM: Do you work out with a buddy or by yourself?

DB: I prefer to train alone.  I consider the time that I train as “me time” and use it to escape from everyone else.  I set my phone to “Airplane Mode” and treat my time training as if it were a spa treatment.

(Emily’s note: I love the shift in mentality of treating your workout like a spa treatment!)

 

MKM: To what do you attribute your current physical fitness? (Diet, exercise, both, good genes, hard work, etc)

DB: I attribute my current physical fitness level and physique to consistent, challenging weight training sessions.  I was diagnosed with a thyroid condition in 2007 and my endocrinologist told me that I would have to put forth effort to maintain a desirable weight.  He said that I would be better off “controlling the shape” of my body with weight training rather than “eating right.”  Also, I realize that my body does not metabolize simple carbohydrates well at all so I limit those.

 

MKM: Who are your fitness role models?

DB: I generally admire anyone committed to a healthy and active lifestyle.  Life can get cRaZy so it is important to always invest in yourself by adhering to a healthy lifestyle.

I would have to say that the following people in my life are my fitness role models:

Jonathan Blount – We met in college and have been friends for nearly 15 years.  He is now a certified personal trainer and Nationally Qualified NPC Physique Competitor.

Kat Williams – My distant fitness coach that is a Professional IFBB Bikini athlete.

Erika Tremble – A friend that made an amazing transformation and is now a NPC Figure Competitor.

MKM: Is “Fitspiration” on Pinterest/Instagram motivating or depressing?

DB: I love “Fitspiration” on all social media.  My Mother is an avid Pinterest user and often sends me memes, healthy recipes and workout ideas.  And I peruse Instagram throughout the day to see what members of my #fitfam are eating or training.

MKM: What’s the best advice you have for someone who is trying to slim down/tone up?

DB: I have the following advice for anyone that has a desire to slim down or tone up:

  1. Determine your goal.  Do you want to lose weight, maintain weight, lower cholesterol, increase strength or just look better naked?
  2. Become self-aware and determine how your body metabolizes certain macronutrients and whether you should focus on cardio or weight training.
  3. Give yourself adequate time to reach your goal(s).
  4. Be consistent and persistent!

MKM: What’s your fitness philosophy?

DB: Health is wealth!

(Amen!)

Follow Devin @dwhitneyb for more inspiration!

Hearing from you always makes my day:

