Naptime Project: Painting Tile Backsplash

Since we moved into our “forever home” last summer, we’ve slowly but surely been compiling a huge list of remodels when the time comes. Not surprising, at the top of our list is our kitchen, followed by the master bathroom.

I myself, love an all white kitchen. In our old house I insisted we have the oak cabinets painted white (against the advice of the painter) and it was everything I dreamed it would be. One look at my Kitchen Board on Pinterest and you can see I have a “type.” Since the cabinets are custom and were newly refinished when we bought the house, we are not going to be making color changes anytime soon and the countertops will have to wait as well.

The backsplash is another story. The tile used for the kitchen backsplash is the same tile used in the Master bath, so it’s no wonder we want to change both. Yesterday morning I came across a blog of someone who actually painted the tile in their shower using outdoor floor paint, and I thought, Aha! I could do that to the backsplash!

Painting Tile Backsplash

2 coats later, I have a clean, bright white backsplash. It’s not the counter-to-ceiling subway tile of the future, but for a quick fix using paint I already had, I’m thrilled with the result!

Here is the before:

Kitchen 003

Here is the after!

Kitchen 020

Kitchen 019

Kitchen 018

Kitchen 005

The paint I used was Rustoleum Painter’s Touch Ultra Cover in Semi-Gloss White.

You can follow me on Pinterest here 🙂

Hearing from you always makes my day:

