Actual Things

1.  After managing 30 years with no fractured bones, I was finally taken down by a 1 year old girl. Savvy got a little carried away jumping on our oversized ottoman and as she threw herself at me, the side of her giant noggin made contact with the bridge of my nose. I heard two very loud cracks and saw stars. When the nurse asked me what happened, I pointed at my wispy-blonde-haired, bright-blue-eyed, sweet-smiling Savannah Sunshine and said that she was the culprit. Then I added, “It was my own fault, I shouldn’t have asked her where she was last night.” As it turns out, this is not a funny joke to medical professionals. My dad, on the other hand, thought it was hilarious when I said it to him later. You win some you lose some.

I ended up with a mild concussion and the x-ray showed my nose is fractured in two places but not severely enough to reset it so I have to wear athletic tape over it for a couple of days while it heals.

nose

Luckily my sis showed up with a latte to drive me to my parents’ house which allowed me to pretend I was being chauffered to my country house to recover after getting some elective work done. #RHKC

2.  A conversation from this morning…

Avery: “Mommy, when Savvy is older she will be able to read and she will stop throwing food on the floor.”

Me: “Yes, she will. And so will you.”  (*Thinking*: Because, newsflash, you can’t read either, Avery, and I’m constantly cleaning up after you, so let’s not throw stones, shall we? Glass houses and such? Mm?)

Avery: “Also you will have to share your wine and your car keys with us.”

Me: “Well that escalated quickly.”

And those are the actual things.

3 thoughts on “Actual Things

  1. Oh no! I’m so sorry to hear about your nose- but your ER story is hilarious.

    Totally reminds me of the time I cut my finger (shattered wine glass- blood AND spilled wine, a travesty) and needed stitches. During the Q&A with the nurse, I answered the “Do you use drugs recreationally?” question with a, “Only on the weekends- what is this, Saturday? Yepppp.” Obviously kidding. My mother was horrified.

    Hope you’re well, lady! 🙂

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com

Hearing from you always makes my day:

