Happy Entertaining: Grandmom’s Birthday Dinner

A couple weekends ago I hosted a birthday dinner for my Grandmom. She’s in her 90s so I wanted to do something fun but more formal than what we would normally do for a birthday (stand around in the kitchen and eat bbq). We made Curry Chicken Salad which is our version of the kind from Dean and Deluca. I’m assuming, based on the price, that Dean and Deluca makes theirs with some sort of diamond dust, but flavorwise, they are the same. (I put the recipe at the bottom of this post if you are interested!

January February 2015 076

I’m still head over heels in love with this giant original oil painting we bought at an auction and it makes the perfect backdrop. The matching lamps are a recent Goodwill find and the colored candlesticks are from Ikea.

January February 2015 075

I always think adding framed pictures is a great way to make the guest of honor feel special.

January February 2015 081

We decorated her seat with a pink pashmina tied to the chair as a cover.

January February 2015 093

She loved the headband made of lace and rhinestones! (I think once you hit 90 you are a little past prime party hat time. Maybe it’s my crown obsession from my pageant days but I can’t resist a festive head piece!)

January February 2015 074

I used a Costco Bouquet to create several mini-arrangements and put them in colorful mis-matched vases for a shabby chic feel with my layered burlap and canvas table runners. Avery made a card for her table setting that reflects their mutual love of cats.

Here are some close-ups of my mini arrangements. These all came from one $14 bouquet from Costco.

January February 2015 112

January February 2015 114

January February 2015 115

January February 2015 116

Here’s the recipe: All of these amounts are approximate. The best way to do it is to taste it as you go along and just experiment until you get it right! You can eat it as a main dish with a fork or serve it on sandwich-sliced croissants.

curry chicken salad

Don’t forget about the hashtag game! The ones you guys have posted so far are hilarious, so keep them coming!

Sometimes Confessions Hashtag Game

Hearing from you always makes my day:

