Sister Wives: Savvy and Mommy’s trip to Orlando

The second week of December, Savvy and I headed down to Orlando for some much-needed girl time with my sorority sister Amanda and her daughter Mira.

Parenting tip #1: You are not allowed to bring your beer on the plane with you during family boarding.

Parenting tip #2: You will get some judgy looks if you then chug said beer, throw it in the trash, and hand the TSA agent your boarding pass.

Parenting tip #3: Lip gloss works as an effective, if messy, distraction tool on a flight. Toddlers in tiaras take note: rosy, voluptuous cheeks as an added bonus.

photo 1

The next day we had lunch in downtown Disney and strolled around the shops with the babies. Savannah must have sensed that there were some photo opportunities coming up because her posing game was en pointe.

photo 3

photo 2 (28)

photo 2

Spa Day at the Ritz for Amanda’s Birthday:

The Ritz Spa was the perfect venue choice for our girls day out in honor of Amanda’s birthday. We kicked off the morning with mani/pedis then headed over to the Ritz for a champagne toast on the terrace, followed by massages, followed by poolside drinks in the hot tub, followed by dinner al fresco at Rocco’s Tacos, followed by an Uber ride home from an Armenian smoothie-shop manager, followed by tv in bed in our jammies by 9pm. It was pretty much the dream.

Meanwhile Savvy and Mira were being pampered and having dance parties with not one, but two nannies. This is how they roll…

photo 4 (7)

“Bows up tell me how I’m lookin, bae”

Feeling Ritzy…

photo 4 (5)

Girls just wanna have champs.

I will note that this was the first time I have ever received a professional massage from a man. He called my name and I turned around to discover that he was what I can only describe as my dream version of myself as a beautiful-yet-masculine gay man. He was tall and fit, slender but not skinny. His hair had the most natural-looking unnatural blonde highlights. He had dreamy big brown eyes, a light golden tan, perfectly puffed lips, and not a wrinkle in sight. He was prettier than me on my prettiest day. I have no doubt the men all love him and the women all want to be him.

photo 3 (4)

photo 2 (5)

Christmas Mani never looked so good.

photo 3 (6)

photo 5 (6)

Refreshed and ready for tacos!

photo 4 (6)

Sunday was Amanda’s actual birthday and we spent the day with some of her family and friends at DisneyWorld. Savvy and Mira won’t remember it, but it was a warm December day that started in the Magic Kingdom and ended in Epcot at the Candle ceremony, a Christmas program narrated by the dad from Scandal. I found it unsettling to hear him reading these beautiful words, surrounded by a huge chorus dressed in robes because all I could think of was, B613.

(*whispers* “SCANDAL!”)

photo 4 (8)

Disney magic…

photo 3 (8)

Disney heartburn.

photo 5 (8)

Disney food coma.

photo 3 (7)

Disney diaper change.

photo 2 (8)

This is the play area where you wait “in line” for the dumbo ride while they give you a buzzer like at a restaurant. Genius!

photo 1 (7)

We took the girls on the iconic Dumbo ride. I still remember my first time at age 4!

We were in Orlando for five days, most of which were spent telling stories and talking about memories of Joe while laughing at our silly babies who were instant best buds. They were so sweet taking turns brushing eachothers hair and giving hugs and kisses. To be honest, I wasn’t really sure what the week would hold, I just wanted to “be there.” What I found was that the moment you step into Amanda and Joe’s house you can feel his presence in a really comforting way. There are beautiful little signs all around…a plant spontaneously blooming, a shooting star in the sky, and of course a gorgeous little baby girl!

photo 1 (2)

Follow the Clark family at CocktailsandChemo.com

3 thoughts on “Sister Wives: Savvy and Mommy’s trip to Orlando

  1. I found your blog through Amanda because I ordered Stella and Dot from one of your trunk shows that supported cocktails and chemo. Now I find myself reading your blog because A I can relate so well to you and B because you are so gosh darn funny.

  2. Beautiful. It is so comforting knowing that Amamda has such wonderful friends. I know it meant so much that you shared her brthday with her. God bless you for being such a great friend.

Hearing from you always makes my day:

