30.

I’m turning 30 tomorrow. I’m not going to lie, it’s been a rough week. I’ve cried a lot. I’ve missed my sorority sisters a lot. I’ve wished I could go back about ten years to when celebrations were breezy and effortless. Mostly effortless because people would hold you up. (True Story: I had a picture from college here and my dad emailed me and made me take it down. How’s that for making me feel young.)

Normally around this time I would be badgering my husband into buying me something ridiculous that I don’t need. I’d be planning a party in honor of myself. I’d be obsessively staring in a magnifying mirror and thinking about botox. But after this week, none of it matters. Sometimes going through the things that happen when you “grow up” can make you feel young and small. The world is a big, bustling place and we have no idea what’s in store for any of us ten years down the road. And I’m so grateful for that.

So I’m gonna eat sushi and drink a nice bottle of wine with my family. I’m gonna let my toddlers put their little hands all over my face and kiss me with their sticky lips. I’m gonna be grateful for the experiences and memories over the last 30 years that have brought me to this place in my life. I’m in a fog of clarity and I don’t want it to be spoiled by my annual birthday-driven self-obsession.

That being said, I did have a list of things I wanted to accomplish. Most of them didn’t happen, so I guess that means I will just have to move them to my 40 by 40 list…

Untitled

Here’s what I did:

1. Read Pride and Prejudice. (It inspired this blog post, or as one friend called it, dissertation.)

2. Redecorate our guest bathroom. (Then we moved.)

Bathroom Makeover 023 Bathroom Makeover 030

3. Clean out my closet and donate to a women’s shelter.

5. Attend a blog conference.

6. Take a girls trip with my besties and act ridiculous. (This weird bar crawl came pretty close.)

10. Host a proper dinner party on fine china with place cards and a floral arrangement. Like a grown up. (Incidentally this turned into a pretty rowdy night, but for a brief shining moment it was a civilized dinner party.)

12. Shop for produce at the Farmer’s Market. (This happened once so it counts.)

13. Get new bedding without spit up on it. (I went with all white DKNY bedding from HomeGoods and it is GLORIOUS.)

14. Learn to play Chess. (This happened once and also I posed for this picture on vacation so it also counts.)

74e14-arizonabiltmore089

15. Take horseback riding lessons. (Turns out, I’m pretty bad at horseback riding.)

22. Go to a concert/ballet/symphony/play

25. Visit my nephew at college in Tulsa. (Just in time!)

November 2013 TULSA 183

Things I did not do:

4. RUN a 5k. Like actually run the whole thing. (It was much more fun walking with my kiddos.)

7. Make a Quiche. I love a Quiche. (I did buy lots of those mini personal size Quiches from Trader Joe’s though.)

8. Take professional family pictures. We haven’t taken any since Savannah was born. (Pretty bummed I didn’t make this a priority.)

9. Go to a painting class.

11. Play a round of golf with my husband (9 holes is fine.)

16. Stay out all night dancing.

17. Go to Nashville.

18. Try the Master Cleanse.

19. Take my hubby on a date to the Museum and lunch in the gorgeous cafe there.

20. Learn French. (I have the Rosetta Stone. There’s really no excuse for this.)

21. Take a self defense class (why is this not offered in every high school?)

23. Sing ‘You Oughta Know’ at Karaoke. (My best friend always sings this and it’s the COOLEST. I feel like this is okay for a 20-something but maybe not for a 30-something so I might move this one up the priority list.)

24. Ride a mechanical bull. (Or maybe not. I don’t know. Should I? It seems like it would be fun, but people always look so dumb on those things. I always feel sorry for them. Also see number 23 re: acceptable for a twenty-something…Cut to future blog post about my broken arm and public shame.)

26. Spa day. (Having kids has really cut into my spa time.)

27. Go to the shooting range with my husband.

28. Design planters for my front porch and keep them alive all year. (Our yard is a plant cemetery.)

29. Learn to play poker.

30. Wear a formal gown. (To an actual event. Not just like, around.)

Happy Just Because Day to you.

4 thoughts on “30.

  1. I seem to recall some Karaoke happening in New Orleans oh so long ago (like before you were close to turning 30) but I’m not sure if you sang “You Oughta Know” I just remember the look of shock on your face when I actually sang on key to “Sweet Home Alabama” and the lovely ladies from Alabama that loved my performance. My point is you can check that one off… I’ll just tell people you got your Morissette on 🙂

    LYLS

  2. Congratulations! You have inspired me to make a 40 by 40 list. I may steal a few of yours…like Pride & Prejudice and actually COMPLETE a cleanse….haha. And here’s my two cents on the bull: Go for it if the opportunity arises! Those are moments that just happen and you can’t force ’em. And you’re hot….you would look awesome falling off that bull! Happy Birthday Love!

Hearing from you always makes my day:

