Playroom Makeover + DIY Fireplace for Kids

 photo 2 (2)

Playroom BEFORE: It really had no focal point and the plastic storage bins always annoyed me. They are a necessary evil until I find a permanent storage solution I like.

photo 1

Playroom NOW:

photo 4

This outlet in the middle of the focal wall was a real eyesore not to mention safety hazard so I decided to use it as a starting point for my fireplace measurements.

photo 2

I used one of Avery’s preschool collages for the “fire” and backed it with thick paper and a velcro strip that I attached to the plastic over the outlet. This way if it gets ripped off it won’t tear and the outlet is still covered with the velcro strip so we can stick it right back on.

photo 3

I bought these sconces at a thrift shop for 25 cents each. I didn’t know what I was going to do with them but I just kind of liked the shapes. Turns out when spray painted white they made the perfect addition to my playroom fireplace mantel.photo 1 (2)

 I like the irony of using classic masterpieces to decorate a children’s playroom so I did a good old fashioned google search and picked a few of my favorites. My girls have a Degas over their fireplace and a Van Gogh in their dining room. I’ve been reading this book about art history and I would eventually like to create a Salon Wall of classics in their playroom.

photo 5

The project took me three hours from start to finish (including cleaning the playroom) and cost less than $10 if you include the sconces and velcro strips I used to hang everything. The paint was just leftover from our bar.

Hope you like our cozy little playroom.

photo 4

Hearing from you always makes my day:

