Ode to 2003 + a playlist

I recently saw on Facebook that my college Millikin University in Decatur, Illinois is planning a major renovation which includes demolishing Hessler Hall where I lived for one glorious semester in 2003. So I started looking back…

ode to 2003

I’m open about the fact that I ended up at Millikin because I pathetically followed my High School boyfriend to college. He got a scholarship and went to play football there and when I went on a campus visit with him I just loved it. I already had a roommate assignment at a different college but somehow I got out of it and into the Freshman Honors Program at Millikin. Ironically, my husband also went on a visit to Millikin University to check out their football team but we didn’t run into eachother because at that time I was in Junior High. This is why, when he brings up his college days, I like to shout, “tell us a story, Grandpa!” It’s hilarious and adorable every time. (To me.)

Anyway, it didn’t work out with the freshman year boyfriend but that year I did actually meet not one, but TWO loves of my life…these little biscuits right here, aka Lauren and Jess. Aren’t they pretty? The stories I could tell. Gosh I love them so much.

6580_530055637578_3288314_n

I’ll do a brief, self-indulgent synopsis. Lauren and I met where a lot of blonde sorority girls meet…in remedial math class. I had gotten up early to hot roll my hair and pick out my “Millikin Blue” sweater which I wore with majorly tight, verging on bell-bottom pants and sandals. She was wearing overalls with a black T-shirt and Tommy Hilfiger socks.  And since it was an early class she was really grumpy. Also she may have been hungover. I thought she was the coolest person in the world. I still do.

I met Jessica when we both pledged Tri Delta. I didn’t know her well at all when she came up to me one day in the cafeteria and announced that she thought I should break up with my boyfriend. She said she could just tell from her observations that it wasn’t really working out. I thought she was slightly crazy and a little rude. I was also completely amused and couldn’t wait to find out what she was going to say out loud next. To this day, I still feel that way about her.

Back to Hessler…

There were 8 of us girls from my pledge class who lived there in 2003, including Lauren and Jess. If you put my funny stories in a pie chart I think like 20% would be from those 4 months in Hessler Hall.

So for a very special #TBT Tribute to Hessler Hall, here is my 2003 Nostalgia Play List. May it take you back to a simpler time. A time when Nick and Jessica were Newlyweds. A time when Tina and Amy were still on SNL. A time when we wore logos on butts.

Happy #TBT 2003 Playlist:

Get Low by Lil’ Jon

In Da Club by 50 Cent

Ignition by R. Kelly

Picture by Kid Rock and Sheryl Crowe

Shake Ya Tailfeather by Nelly

Cry Me A River by Justin Timberlake

The Remedy by Jason Mraz

 

Pinterest DJ Enzyme

 

 

 

One thought on “Ode to 2003 + a playlist

  1. I knew I liked you, but this playlist makes me love you! Awesome! I’m friends with Kathleen Markham and will (hopefully) be at her party next week, see you there!

Hearing from you always makes my day:

