Sunshine when skies are gray

To say the sky looks gray to me today is an understatement. When I get a moment to myself, I cry. This is why.

Leave it to my kids to make me laugh when I feel like sobbing. This morning I was in the basement watching The Mindy Project on Hulu and drinking my coffee (with no less than 6 different interruptions) when I saw my 1 year old Savannah toddle over to her 3 year old big sister Avery in their play area and hand her an ever-so-coveted doll. In response Avery non-chalantly said, “Thanks B*tch.”

I wish I could say I was shocked, but this is not the first time that has happened. Playing it cool, I said, “Oops, AJ, that’s an adult word.” Sweetly she said “Sorry, Momma, is that a bad word?” My (self-serving) philosophy is that we don’t have “good words” and “bad words” because frankly I don’t think cussing is really that bad as far as vices go. Also my taste in music is questionable for the toddler set and we have Sirius radio so nothing is censored. Again, I explained to Avery that there are kid words and adult words…

Me: Kid words are words like ‘owie’ and ‘boo boo’. If Daddy got hurt and announced he got a boo boo that would be weird because he’s an adult and it wouldn’t sound appropriate. He would just say he got hurt. Just like it’s not appropriate for you to say the other word.

Avery: So only Britney Spears can say B*tch?

Me: Um, yes, Britney Spears can say whatever she wants. Because she’s an adult. And because “it’s Britney, b*tch.” (Okay I didn’t say the last part but it was tempting.)

 

Silly Avery

My sunshine when skies are gray.

 

 

Hearing from you always makes my day:

