MKM Style: Home Life

Happy Throwback Thursday! I thought I would give a quick update on my home decor now that I am settling into my new house with a little throwback to the “before” pictures. It was already beautiful when we saw it staged from the previous owners, but I’ve had a great time coming up with my own style. For me, home decor is an ongoing process. I’m always changing things around, moving furniture, trying different hangings on the wall (I get it from my mom) so I never really feel like a room is “done” but here are a few my favorite areas so far.

Foyer Before:

photo 4 (10)

 

Foyer Now:

photo 1 (25)

 

I’ve always loved the idea of having a little table in the entryway for flowers and there is so much space here that I can actually do it without fear of a child running through and knocking it over! The table and rug are both from Home Goods. Obviously there is potential here to do much more…send me ideas!

 

Hearth Room Before:

photo 2 (23)

 

Hearth Room Now:

photo 2 (22)

 

The painting over the mantel is one of my most prized possessions. It was a wedding gift from my parents and it was done by an artist, Nancy Milano, who knew me as a child but hadn’t seen me in years. They just said, paint something for Emily and this is what she came up with. It stuns me how reflective it is of my taste and aesthetic. It could not be more perfect. The rug is from good old Target and the bench is from Home Goods.

Formal Living Room Before:

photo 5 (4)

Formal Living Room Now:

photo 5 (3)

 

My husband didn’t really have any input on this room whatsoever, which is why it’s light and bright. He tends to like darker colors and more traditionally masculine materials like leather so we compromise in other areas of the house, but this room really reflects my personal aesthetic more than any other. If I have a quiet moment I like to sit here with a glass of champagne or a cup of tea and look out at our view of the trees and stream in the backyard. Maybe it’s the fact that I usually only sit here when my kids are sleeping, but I find it very peaceful.

 

 

Hope you enjoyed the little #tbt tour!

 

 

2 thoughts on “MKM Style: Home Life

  1. Amazing! Where did you get that clock in the formal living room? Decorating with clocks for my NYE wedding so always on the hunt 🙂 xo AL

Hearing from you always makes my day:

