You Look Like A Mom.

Has everybody seen the Run Like A Girl video yet? It makes us realize how many demeaning stereotypes we carry around without even realizing it.

Cut to the other day…Avery was playing in my closet and said, “Mommy, I think I look so pretty.” So of course I made a big deal about it and gasped and said, “Oh my goshhh! Are you a MODEL?” And she was offended and she said “No! I’m a MOM.” Like, duh, Lady, look at me. I’m wearing all your stuff. I feel pretty. Clearly, I’m a mom.

 

I was reminded of the best SNL commercial of all time: Mom Jeans.

The commercial ends with this hilarious line: “Give her something that says, ‘I’m not a woman anymore! I’m a mom!'”

Around this time I also got a picture from my friends Mrs. Kansas and Mrs. Missouri at the National Pageant in Vegas rocking their Stella and Dot jewelry (I’m a sponsor.)

THESE hot ladies are also moms.

And it’s not just pageant girls who are hot moms. I recently went to Orlando for Stella and Dot Hoopla (more on that later this week!) and I was surrounded by hot moms!

When I started this blog, I really thought it was just going to be about my kids. Through your feedback and comments you’ve showed me that my mission is to change people’s perception of what it looks like and feels like to be a Mom. I hope I inspire women to find ways to stay cool and chic in motherhood that are affordable and practical. In Stella and Dot we are always talking about the Statement Necklace. And I like to think we call it that because when you take the time to put one on, it tells the world, “I care about myself.” Unlike Mom Jeans.

So when my three year old daughter came to me all dolled up and said “I look like a mom”…and when she ran out of the kitchen wearing my apron backwards and yelled, “I found a cape!”…and when she tells me, “When I’m a mom, I’ll be smart like you” I know I am doing something right (amidst all the cussing and frozen waffles for dinner. Incidentally that’s probably why she thinks an apron is a cape.) 

So hopefully you walk a little taller today, feel a little prettier today, and above all, inspire your kids to be the best version of themselves. 

I’ll end with three of my all-time favorite moms:

Karen Walker from Will and Grace.

 

Hearing from you always makes my day:

