Marisa’s Wedding Details

 Saturday June 8th, 2013

 

Bridesmaids with the groom, Charlie

The most beautiful bride

The big day has come and gone. I laughed, I cried, I gave a speech, I danced, I ate too much cake, and I got to see my best friend in the world marry the man of her dreams. It felt surreal. She’s only 2 years younger than me, but I am so protective of her.  In the weeks leading up to the wedding I started having nightmares that her dress was ruined or I was late to the church. I got defensive over anyone not making the wedding events their number one priority. I kept Marisa’s wedding dress in the nursery and checked on it day and night to make sure it was still hanging perfectly. In between photos on Saturday I hurried into a little coffee shop to get a snack and got all huffy with the innocent cashier, basically snapping at him for not moving fast enough, like he was supposed to know it was Marisa’s day. I was like George Banks trying to buy hot dog buns in Father of the Bride.

 

(“I’ll tell you what I’m doing. I want to buy eight hot dogs and eight hot dog buns to go with them. But no one sells eight hot dog buns. They only sell twelve hot dog buns. So I end up paying for four buns I don’t need. So I am removing the superfluous buns. Yeah! And you want to know why? Because some big-shot over at the wiener company got together with some big-shot over at the bun company and decided to rip off the American public…George Banks is saying NO!”)

 

Not a proud moment, but I digress…

 

Here are some pictures from the Rehearsal Dinner:

Maid of Honor, Bride, Groom, and Best Man

The morning of the wedding I woke up at exactly 2:17 AM in a panic sweat with my heart racing. I don’t know if I was having a bad dream or what, but I had to wake up my husband to help me calm down so I could go back to sleep. When I woke up a few hours later I was giddy with excitement! I packed up the car, kissed Kevin and Avery, and headed downtown to the loft where all the girls would be getting ready. I absolutely loved my hairstyle and jewelry – a gift from Marisa!

 

 

Getting the dress on was more complicated than you would expect but we did it!

Helping her into her shoes, just like she did for me on my wedding day

Her beautiful bouquet

Avery in front of the church in the flower girl dress I made

So up to this point, the day had been mostly breezy and full of giggles. When it was time to walk down the aisle it felt like someone had suddenly pressed the fast forward button. Before I knew it, everything was actually happening. And that’s when I lost it. As I watched Marisa and Charlie light the unity candle and hug their parents and grandparents in front of our entire extended family while the musicians played, I ventured into a territory known as the Ugly Cry. It wasn’t the kind of thing where I could daintily dab the mist out of my eyes before it ruined my mascara. I felt liquid emotion streaming down my face, collecting at the bottom of my chin and dripping down the front of my dress, taking rivulets of eye make up with it. By the time they said their vows I looked like I had lost a fight and contracted pink eye.

Just lined up, feeling good, feeling strong!

Despite my tears of JOY, I ended up looking like someone ran over my dog in front of me halfway through the ceremony

When Marisa turned around and saw me she was visibly concerned about my emotional state

You know you’ve made a scene when the bride puts a hand out to console you during her own marital blessing.

As soon as they were announced as husband and wife I felt a huge sense of relief wash over me. I don’t know if I have ever been happier to see two people get married (other than my own wedding obviously, but even then I didn’t cry.)

 

My husband got this awesome picture of them leaving the church!

PARTY TIME

We took a fun trolley ride over to the reception venue which is a gorgeous ranch and I got to be reunited with my lil princess! In all the hustle and bustle of the day, I hadn’t really gotten to hold her and I just wanted to squeeze her to pieces! She was a pro at being a flower girl. Walked down the aisle like she owned the place and didn’t even have to be bribed. I was beyond proud!

Feeling so blessed

From that point on we danced the night away. I was physically exhausted and emotionally drained, (after all, I am 8 months pregnant) but I wouldn’t have missed that party for anything in the world!

Getting my dance on with my mom, sister, and nieces

My cousin Maggie snapped this picture as we were walking out the door and it perfectly captures the end of the night. I have cried and sweat off my make up, Avery is wearing a random cowboy hat and is so over posing for pictures, and Kevin is carrying a ridiculous, giant fluff ball of a dress. Kuhlmans OUT.

Cheers to love and laughter, and happily ever after for the new Mr. and Mrs. Whitfield!!!

2 thoughts on “Marisa’s Wedding Details

  1. I love this! Em, you perfectly captured our day (And by our day, I obviously mean yours and mine! We had been dreaming of and planning that day our entire lives. The groom just had to show up, afterall!) I could not have asked for a better maid of honor. You were my wedding day guardian angel and guard dog, watch out! 🙂 As I am reading this on the morning of our second anniversary, I am straining to see the screen over my daughter’s sweet little head, as she has decided to snuggle with me by sprawling across my neck. I can’t help but think that Charlie and I were blessed on our day to have had the best maid of honor, but Charlotte will be blessed for a lifetime to have you and Kevin as her Godparents! We Love you so much! I love you mostest! 😉 thank you for the walk down memory lane!

  2. Pingback: Those Aren’t Your People | Mrs. Kansas Mommy

Hearing from you always makes my day:

