Kuhlman, Party of 3. Soon to be 4.

Family Date Night

I went to my check up and got a great report. My doctor decided to put a date on the calendar for an induction, which means the final countdown has officially begun! Last night we decided to have a family date night, just the three of us. We went out for Mexican food and then took Avery over to the Plaza. We went to the park where we took our wedding pictures and we all made wishes and threw pennies in the iconic JC Nichols Memorial fountain.

I told my husband that I feel like having a baby is a lot like getting married. Waiting to get pregnant is a lot like waiting to get engaged. Once you make up your mind that you are ready you start to obsess over it more than you care to share with anyone. When it finally happens you set a date, sign up for email checklists, spend hours on Pinterest, and are unable to talk of anything else. By the time the date is actually approaching you feel like you have been waiting your entire life.

Then the day comes. And in the blink of an eye, it’s over.

On our honeymoon in Maui as Kevin and I walked along the beach, I was so relieved to be married to him yet I still felt this little let down that the actual wedding was over. When our first daughter was born I was terrified of the labor part and could not wait to get it over with, but once I actually experienced it, I loved it. I adored holding her in my arms and yet I missed having her safely inside my belly where I could lie quietly in bed in the middle of the night and feel her little hiccups from inside.

I have never been one of those ladies that says, “Oh, I love being pregnant!” Not even close. I was really sick my first trimester on top of having a stomach illness that couldn’t be treated due to my pregnancy stage. I ended up in the Emergency Room only to be told there was nothing they could do to help me. It was a terrifying experience and it made me realize how vulnerable I was. 

Even if you have an easy pregnancy there are little things that can get to you. You miss out on some trips, some parties, a good friend’s wedding. There’s no sushi or cocktail hour. There are aches and pains and mood swings. But when you look at the scope of your entire life there is something profound and humbling about being so fortunate to be someone’s one and only Mommy, providing everything they need and getting to know them before anyone in the world has even laid eyes on them.

Right now I’m just trying to stay balanced. I’m enjoying all the time I can giving Avery my undivided attention while also trying to keep my excitement at bay over finally getting to experience the birth of our new baby and seeing what her sweet little face looks like. With each day that passes we are one step closer to our new beginning as a family of four. I am both extremely thankful for today, and SO excited to see what (or who!) tomorrow will bring.

2009

2013

 

Hearing from you always makes my day:

