Getaway: Four Seasons St. Louis

One of the perks of being a stay-at-home mom is that Avery and I can pick up mid-week and go wherever my husband has business. Sometimes the locales are more appealing than others. Since St. Louis is just a short drive from KC, we took a Wed-Fri trip and Kevin and I had a little getaway at the Four Seasons while my mother-in-law watched Avery. 

This is the second time I have stayed at this property and it was even better than the first. My sister-in-law’s sister (did you follow that?) works at this hotel and was sweet enough to send up sparkling water and chocolate-covered strawberries for me to enjoy upon arrival. (Last time she sent champagne, but since I am expecting she sent Italian sparkling water. Love…it’s in the details, people!)

I met some college friends for cocktail hour in the beautiful hotel bar on Thursday evening and asked the server to have the bartender surprise me with a “fun-but-low-cal-mommy-to-be” drink. He made a virgin skinny Mojito that was so refreshing I had two. We dined at Cielo which is described as “elevated Italian-American cuisine.” Next time I will try to remember to take pictures of the individual dishes. I had the salmon and was disappointed to find that it was garnished with carrots and celery. (Uh, I ordered fish, not turkey.) But the chocolate mousse made up for it. It is served in a chocolate shell and has a marshmallow cream center. Kevin and I were fighting over the last bite. (He let me have it.)

The next morning we went back for breakfast and I had the daily special which was wild blueberry pancakes with vanilla bean butter. To be honest, I only ordered it for the butter (I have a butter problem) and it did not disappoint. After that my husband headed off to work while I headed to the spa. This was my second time at the Four Seasons Spa and every time I go there I am blown away by how serene and relaxing the atmosphere is, considering it is in the middle of St. Louis. I treated myself to the Mother’s Bliss massage which was just what the doctor ordered. Side note about the Four Seasons…they have the most incredible chamomile tea. It’s called Chamomile Flowers and you can find it here

 Breakfast overlooking the pool terrace and Arch

 

The Four Seasons Spa

After a relaxing night away I was ready to see my baby so my mother-in-law brought her downtown and let her run around the terrace in the sunshine before we met up with my husband to drive back to KC. It was the perfect ending to our mid-week getaway!

 

Hearing from you always makes my day:

